Lab #5: Understanding Immigration Issues

For the complex multimedia package assignment, my group (Nicole Morsfield and Jeremy Curtis) is focusing on the immigration process and what it is like for people to go through that, along with how people who have immigrated to the United States have adapted to their new life.

I used those ideas for our fifth lab, where I researched the stress and effects on people’s mental health while dealing with the immigration process.

I took my findings and published them into an audio story, because it is much harder to describe the stress these individuals go through in text than sitting down and reflecting in a discussion.

The stress these individuals go through is really eye-opening. There is actually a term for it. Psychology Today coined the term “acculturative stress”, which is the stress people go through while dealing with the immigration process.

Before, during and after the immigration process, people go through a high amount of stress. I reflected on that in my audio story.

One thought on “Lab #5: Understanding Immigration Issues

Leave a comment